Bermudians who have helped shape our community were honoured at a special event last night.

The Trail of Our People Jabulani/Jubilee was hosted by Nishanthi Bailey and Stephan Johnstone as part of the 2016 Emancipation Celebration series and featured dance and music performances as well as biographies.

The Department of Community and Cultural Affairs celebrated 20 honourees from Devonshire and Paget as part of a series of similar events celebrating those from other parishes.

Those honourees celebrated at the Ruth Seaton James Centre for the Performing Arts were: Wilfred Allen, John Bassett Sr, Henry Conyers, David Critchley, Edward Forbes, Geraldine Johnston, Reginald E. Ming, George Morris, Esau Simmons, Edwin Skinner, Herbert Stirling, Dr Dorothy Thompson, Hilda Tucker, James Tucker, Olivia Tucker, Kingsley Tweed, Devonshire Recreation Club, Founders of Elliott School, the Musson family, and the Dill family.

Director of the department Heather Whalen said: “The idea for this series was to look at the persons, mostly of African descent, who have thrived and contributed to the community, and did so selflessly, not for recognition.

“In several cases we have honoured people who were not black but who went against the status quo for the benefit of black people.”


Royal Gazette